Read More

NY, NJ, and CT Require Travelers from States with High Coronavirus Rates to Quarantine

In an effort to control the spread of COVID-19, a Tri-State Travel Advisory has been put into effect as of June 25, 2020, requiring all travelers entering New York, New Jersey or Connecticut from a state with a positive COVID-19 test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a 7-day rolling average, to quarantine for 14 days.

As of July 7th, there are now 19 states with this positive test rate criteria, requiring anyone traveling into the tri-state area from Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Nevada, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas or Utah to quarantine for 14 days.

The 14-day quarantine requirement includes travelers to NY, NJ or CT as well as residents returning home from any of these locations. It does not apply to travelers passing through the tri-state area for a duration period of 24 hours or less.

The Advisory is a coordinated effort among the three Governors, as well as the state health departments, to try and protect the tristate area from the increase in community transmission of COVID-19 that other states are now experiencing, while still allowing free travel from within the tristate area. The state health departments are working together to increase public awareness around this to help reduce the spread of COVID-19.

There are some exemptions to the travel advisory for individuals who work in critical infrastructure positions or who are traveling to NY, NJ or CT on business. For more information on travel advisory exemptions by state, please visit:

- NY.gov
- NJ Department of Health
- CT.gov

In NY, as part of the Governor’s Executive Order, individuals found to be in violation or non-compliance of a quarantine or isolation order by the state’s health department may be subject to a civil penalty of up to $10,000. Additionally, New Yorkers who travel to a “hot-spot” state will be ineligible for their state mandated paid sick leave, unless the travel was for business purposes. The travel advisory is voluntary in both New Jersey and CT and so although travelers are strongly encouraged to comply there are no fines for non-compliance at this time.

For more information on COVID-19 please visit:
New York
New Jersey
Connecticut

Share

Connect With a OneDigital Team Near You

Stay In The Know

Sign up for OneDigital's email newsletters!

Top